How work affects life.
Designs by the Industrial Design class of the University of Applied Arts Vienna, under the direction of Prof. Stefan Diez, in an exhibition curated by Matylda Krzykowski at the MAKK Cologne.

Work, as the old German proverb says, is half the life. One would think that this view would be a relic of the past. But instead, the debate about work is more complex and extensive than ever - and that for quite some time. In the context of infinite possibilities in career choice and the paradigm of a self-determined life, decisions in this regard increasingly overburdening the individual. Currently, the importance we attach to work in the relationship between free time, family, self-determination and external determination is increasingly being questioned and whether we can and want to separate work and free time from each other at all. Where is the centre of our “work-life balance”, where and how do we want to work, into what do we want to invest our time? For some, work is an essential aspect of existence fulfilment, for others it secures their existence and for still others it is a psychological burden, especially, or in particular, when work is missing. However, work in its current form is also the cause of our enormous consumption of resources and leads continuously to the destruction of the common basis of life. This aspect in particular shows how complex the arguments are and how urgently necessary it has become to reconsider priorities and circumstances.

Under my supervision, the students dealt with current and future forms of work over two semesters: While the first semester dealt with the current influences on the world of work in terms of technological, economic and social changes, the second semester focused with the production methods of these projects from the point of view of a future-oriented circular economy.

Designers, especially industrial designers, have a direct influence on the tools of work and on how people work together in workplaces. Whether in offices, studios, workshops, in the fields or at home... Designers awaken the consumer desires of a society and, together with industry and crafts, satisfy them by transforming resources into products and services. It is therefore obvious that designers play a central role in the transformation of the thematic complexes of work and economy.

The students were accompanied for two semesters by the ID1 team (Christian Ruschitzka, Christian Steiner, Christoph von Berg, Doris Grossi, Elisabeth Wildling, Eva Kitting, Jakob Illera, Katrin Sailer, Marcus Bruckmann, Peter Mahlknecht, Sandra Hofmeister, Sophia Podreka and Ursula Klein) and additionally by Gonzalezhaase (Berlin), Mirko Borsche (Munich), Harald Gründl (EOOS-Vienna), Matylda Krzykowski (Berlin), Gustav Lindholm (HAY-Copenhagen), Daniel Prost (Institute of Architecture, the Applied), Dominik Hammer, Arthur Desmet and Lina Fischer (DIEZOFFICE-Munich) in numerous discussions and workshops. The project was kicked off by Matylda Krzykowski with a 3-day workshop on personal, speculative working spaces. The students were generously and valuably supported in the implementation of the projects and the exhibition by our project partner, the Augsburg-based company WAGNER-LIVING.

Stefan Diez, Munich, February 2021

Every product design is a conception of the world

WORKSPACE IN PROGRESS focuses on the relationship of a young generation to work. The designs address the current conditions of the working environment, such as creativity, adaptability and flexibility, and the associated technological, economic and social challenges. There is hardly a better place to negotiate the present and the future than in teaching and training. The question of what preferred spaces we need to earn our income and into what we want to invest our time is recurring. And more importantly, will they be activities we want to pursue?

The result of this negotiation is an exhibition at MAKK Cologne consisting of a depository of products and projects in the form of processes, furniture, lighting, clothing, video, appliances and systems. In the course of the exhibition, these ideas are activated in the sense of props on a stage through performances. Through the action, expected and perceived challenges such as remote working, lack of movement, limitation of space or lack of privacy.

Rarely has a topic dominated all areas of work and life as much as the pandemic. Our familiar environment has become a screen. The question of how the students’ designs could come into contact with an audience that might be absent from the museum gave rise to the proposal to document the performative work processes and to share them in the form of videos in digital space. It is not enough to translate a product that has taken place in the analogue into the digital. Viewing a physical experience, on the other hand, stages the possibility of experiencing work in a way. Only through an action are designs integrated into a possible world view.

Matylda Krzykowski, Berlin, February 2021

diezoffice
wagner
makk
angewandte

The exhibition

WORKSPACE IN PROGRESS will take place at the Museum of Applied Art in Cologne MAKK from 27 April - 09 May 2021, in parallel with a digital programme. The exhibition is curated by Matylda Krzykowski, planned by Lina Fischer (DIEZOFFICE) and graphically realised by Bureau Borsche. Video production in collaboration with Daniel van Hauten.

WORKSPACE IN PROGRESS was created in collaboration with and with the valuable support of WAGNER-LIVING, Augsburg.

How work affects life.
Entwürfe der Studierenden Klasse Industriedesign der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien, unter Leitung von Prof. Stefan Diez, in einer Ausstellung kuratiert von Matylda Krzykowski im MAKK Köln.

Arbeit, so sagt ein altes deutsches Sprichwort, sei das halbe Leben. Man sollte meinen, dass diese Ansicht längst der Vergangenheit angehört. Doch stattdessen ist die Debatte um Arbeit komplexer und umfangreicher als zuvor - und das schon seit geraumer Zeit. Vor dem Hintergrund der unendlichen Möglichkeiten bei der Berufswahl und dem Paradigma eines selbstbestimmten Lebens führen diesbezügliche Entscheidungen zunehmend zu einer überforderung des Einzelnen. Aktuell wird immer häufiger die Frage gestellt, welchen Stellenwert wir der Arbeit im Gefüge zwischen Freizeit, Familie, Selbstund Fremdbestimmung beimessen und ob wir Arbeit und Freizeit überhaupt voneinander trennen können und wollen. Wo liegt das Zentrum unserer “Work- Life-Balance”, wo und wie wollen wir arbeiten, in was wollen wir unsere Zeit investieren? Für die einen ist Arbeit ein wesentlicher Aspekt der Daseinserfüllung, für andere die Existenzsicherung und für wieder andere eine psychische Belastung, vor allem, oder gerade dann, wenn die Arbeit fehlt. Arbeit in ihrer heutigen Form ist aber auch die Ursache für unseren enormen Ressourcenverbrauch und führt unaufhörlich zur Zerstörung der gemeinsamen Lebensgrundlagen. Gerade dieser Aspekt zeigt wie verwoben die Argumente sind und wie dringend notwendig eine Neubetrachtung der Prioritäten und Verhältnisse geworden ist.

Die Studierenden haben sich unter meiner Leitung über zwei Semester hinweg mit den gegenwärtigen und zukünftigen Formen der Arbeit auseinandergesetzt: Während im ersten Semester die aktuellen Einflüssen auf die Arbeitswelt hinsichtlich technologischer, ökonomischer und sozialer Veränderungen thematisiert wurden, sind im zweiten Semester die Produktionsweisen dieser Projekte unter den Gesichtspunkten einer zukunftsorientierten Kreislaufwirtschaft behandelt worden.

DesignerInnen, insbesondere Industrial Designer, haben unmittelbaren Einfluss auf die Werkzeuge der Arbeit und auf das Zusammenarbeiten der Menschen an den Arbeitsstätten. Egal ob in Büros, Studios, Werkstätten, auf den Feldern oder zu Hause... DesignerInnen wecken die Konsumwünsche einer Gesellschaft und befriedigen sie zusammen mit der Industrie und dem Handwerk, indem sie Ressourcen zu Produkten und Dienstleistungen verwandeln. Es liegt also nahe, dass DesignerInnen eine zentrale Rolle bei der Umgestaltung der Themenkomplexe Arbeit und Wirtschaft zukommt.

Die Studierenden wurden zwei Semester hindurch vom Team der ID1 (Christian Ruschitzka, Christian Steiner, Christoph von Berg, Doris Grossi, Elisabeth Wildling, Eva Kitting, Jakob Illera, Katrin Sailer, Marcus Bruckmann, Peter Mahlknecht, Sandra Hofmeister, Sophia Podreka und Ursula Klein) begleitet und zusätzlich von Gonzalezhaase (Berlin), Mirko Borsche (München), Harald Gründl (EOOS-Wien), Matylda Krzykowski (Berlin), Gustav Lindholm (HAY-Copenhagen), Daniel Prost (Institut für Architektur, die Angewandte), Dominik Hammer, Arthur Desmet sowie Lina Fischer (DIEZOFFICE-München) in zahlreichen Gesprächen und Workshops unterstützt. Den Auftakt des Projektes machte Matylda Krzykowski mit einem 3-Tages Workshop zu persönlichen, spekulativen Arbeitsräumen. Bei der Umsetzung der Projekte und der Ausstellung wurden die Studierenden von unserem Projektpartner, dem Augsburger Unternehmen WAGNER- LIVING, großzügig und wertvoll unterstützt.

Stefan Diez, München, Februar 2021

Jeder Produktentwurf ist ein Weltbildentwurf

Im Mittelpunkt der Aufmerksamkeit von WORKSPACE IN PROGRESS steht das Verhältnis einer jungen Generation zum Thema Arbeit. Die Entwürfe thematisieren die aktuellen Bedingungen der Arbeitsumwelt, wie Kreativität, Anpassungsfähigkeit und Flexibilität, und die damit verbundenen technologischen, ökonomischen und sozialen Herausforderungen. Es gibt kaum einen besseren Ort um Gegenwart und Zukunft zu verhandeln als in Lehre und Ausbildung. Die Frage welche bevorzugten Räume wir brauchen, um unser Einkommen zu verdienen und wofür wir unsere Zeit investieren wollen ist wiederkehrend. Und noch viel wichtiger: Werden es Tätigkeiten sein, denen wir nachgehen wollen?

Das Resultat dieser Verhandlung ist eine Ausstellung im MAKK Köln bestehend aus einem Depot aus Produkten und Projekten in Form von Prozessen, Möbeln, Leuchten, Kleidung, Video, Geräten und Systemen. Im Laufe der Ausstellung werden diese Ideen im Sinne von Requisiten auf einer Bühne durch Performances aktiviert. Durch die Handlung werden erwartete und gefühlte Herausforderungen wie Remote Working, Mangel an Bewegung, Limitation von Raum oder fehlende Privatsphäre deutlich.

Selten hat ein Thema sämtliche Arbeits- und Lebensbereiche so dominiert wie die Pandemie. Unser gewohntes Umfeld ist zu einem Bildschirm geworden. Bei der Frage wie die Entwürfe der Studierenden mit einem, womöglich im Museum abwesenden, Publikum in Kontakt treten können, entstand der Vorschlag die performativ dargestellten Arbeitsabläufe zu dokumentieren und in Form von Videos im digitalen Raum zu teilen. Es reicht nicht aus, ein Produkt, welches im Analogen stattgefunden hat, spiegelbildlich ins Digitale zu übersetzen. Die Betrachtung einer körperliche Erfahrung hingegen inszeniert die Möglichkeit Arbeit auf eine Art und Weise zu erleben. Erst durch eine Handlung werden Entwürfe in ein mögliches Weltbild integriert.

Matylda Krzykowski, Berlin, Februar 2021

diezoffice
wagner
angewandte
makk

Aktuelle Informationen

WORKSPACE IN PROGRESS wird vom 27. April - 09. Mai 2021, parallel zu einem digitalen Programm, im Museum für angewandte Kunst in Köln MAKK zu sehen sein Die Ausstellung ist von Matylda Krzykowski kuratiert, von Lina Fischer (DIEZOFFICE) geplant und grafisch vom Bureau Borsche umgesetzt. Videoproduktion in Zusammenarbeit mit Daniel van Hauten.

WORKSPACE IN PROGRESS entstand in Zusammenarbeit und mit wertvoller Unterstützung durch WAGNER-LIVING, Augsburg.